The WFP Distinguished Achievement Awards scheme was established in 2010 to receive nominations from all member societies of eminent candidates. All members are requested to consult the information below in the first instance. Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary, Assoc Prof David Piedrafita at 

The announcement of the awards will be made during the congress.

Details of deadlines for submission of the nominations will be posted on the website in the year prior to the next ICOPA congress.


The WFP award scheme

The awards are called the “WFP Distinguished Achievement Awards” and they take the form of special certificates, signed and dated by the President of WFP. The successful candidates will be announced at ICOPA and will be sent their award certificates by post soon after the meeting. The certificates will be suitably sized on elegant parchment bearing the WFP logo and will testify to the person’s outstanding achievements as a member of their society.

Nomination deadlines

  • Awards are made once every 4 years at ICOPA.

  • Member societies are requested to submit nominations to the Executive Secretary of WFP.

  • The Executive Board of WFP will scrutinise all applications and make their recommendations to the President. The President of WFP will announce the names of successful nominations during ICOPA and names will be displayed on the WFP stand.

Requirements for nomination

  • The Executive Board will consider one recommendation for a Distinguished Achievement Award from each member society of WFP.

  • Nominees, one per member society, should be individuals whose contributions to the discipline have been considerable in the field of scientific endeavour, in research, teaching and/or in the administration, support and promotion of parasitology. Contributions to parasitology might be on a national or local scale.

  • There are no age restrictions for nominated individuals.

Nomination procedure and details

Member Societies should submit a single nomination as a Word document to the Executive Secretary of WFP by email as described below.

  • A single-page CV, a list of the ten best publications, plus a synopsis of research, teaching, administrative or promotional activities that support the candidate’s nomination.

  • Only three pages of A4 text will be allowed in total – any additional pages will be discarded and will not contribute to the candidacy.

  • Nominations must be signed and dated by the President or delegated representative of the Member Society and each candidate must sign a declaration of agreement to be nominated – all to be contained within the three allowable pages.


No currently serving member of the Executive Board of WFP, including officers, and members of the current ICOPA Organising Committee may be nominated for an award until at least 3 years have expired since their term of office.

Awards made at ICOPA

The WFP Executive Board is very pleased to announce that Distinguished Parasitologist Awards were made to the following colleagues who were nominated by their home parasitology societies.

  • ICOPA XII: Dr David Heath (New Zealand), Professor Réné Houin (France), Professor Somchai Jongwutiwes (Thailand), Professor Jaroslav Kulda (Czech Republic), Professor Wallace Peters (UK), Professor Vinod Sharma (India) and Professor John Sprent (Australia). It is with considerable regret that we must record the death of John Sprent shortly after the award certificate was presented to him in Australia.

  • ICOPA XIII: Professor Ian Beveridge (Australia), Professor Simon Brooker (UK), Professor Jean Dupouy-Camet, (France), Professor Saovanee Leelayoova (Thailand), Dr. Edoardo Pozio (Italy) and Dr. Hector Quiroz-Romero (Mexico)